Your Friendgirl Deserves Better

This is an old article that a friend shared with me a while back as I was desperately trying to get out of my “Egypt;”   when I was desperately trying to restore my life and refocus my walk with the LORD; when I was desperately trying to make sense of what kind of “relationship” I was in.

As I meet and talk with a lot of younger single women (and men) today, it truly surprises me how this article applies to so many individuals who fall into the trap of being “friendzoned.”   It seems that this convenient arrangement  is a growing epidemic among the youth (and sad to say, in my case even for singles in their 40s and 50s), with the risk of severely breaking one’s heart.

To my single friends, be prayerful; be discerning.  Read on…

If you’re one of those guys who is passively encouraging a single woman to waste her time on you when you’re not romantically interested, then it’s time for one of the most important breakups of your life.

“Dude, we’re just friends,” said the defensive 20-something sitting across from me.

“It sure doesn’t look like a friendship to me or anyone else,” I said.

“So I enjoy female companionship,” he said. “It doesn’t mean we have to date each other.”

“Come on, man,” I said. “You are dating her — minus any sign of commitment from you. She’s your friendgirl, whether you want to admit it or not.”

He barely suppressed a smile, because he knew. He knew she really liked him; he knew he wasn’t really interested in her; he knew she was just a placeholder — and unfortunately, their dysfunctional relationship wasn’t rare.

Read the rest of the article HERE .

Leave a Reply

